

Pastor Bill Schaefer, Synod Secretary bill.schaefer@swpasynod.org 1014 Perry Hwy, Suite 200 Pittsburgh, PA 15237

Actions of the Synod Council June 17, 2023 & July 15, 2023

June 17, 2023 Actions

- **Appointed** Loran Bohman, Rev. Allyn Itterly, Rev. JJ Lynn, and Holly Schmitt in addition to the officers to the Executive Committee.
- **Granted** the Rev. Scott Bryte the status of On Leave From Call on the Roster of Ministers of Word and Sacrament of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America up to the completion of his eligible three-year term and/or annual review with the original effective date of June 15, 2023.

July 15, 2023 Actions

- Voted to enter into a contract with Bookminders for accounting services and hire a new clerical person for the synod to work with Office of the Treasurer.
- **Appointed** Scott Celin and Michael Sparlin to the Board of Directors of Lutheran SeniorLife with terms expiring in 2026.
- **Appointed** the Rev. Brandon Johns to the Board of Directors of Lutheran Service Society with a term ending in 2026.
- **Appointed** the Rev. Ross Carmichael and Amy Kelly to the Council for Lutheran Campus Ministry of Greater Pittsburgh with terms ending in 2026.
- Appointed chairpersons, secretaries, and members to the Standing Committee to the terms as listed and to appoint Synod Council members listed to serve as Synod Council Liaisons to the Standing Committees:

Care and Leadership of All Generation: Deacon Michelle Kunkle – Chairperson, Rev. Jess Felici, and Rev. Erin Evans with terms ending in 2027 and Deacon Deb Roberts and Angeline Schaefer with terms ending in 2025. Synod Council Liaison: Rev. Eric Damon

Care and Leadership of Congregations: Janice Jeletic – Chairperson, Jen King – Secretary, Rev. Erin Jones and Rev. Bob Zimmerman with terms ending in 2027 and Kathleen Howells and Russ North with terms ending in 2025. Synod Council Liaison: Jen King

Care and Leadership of Rostered Leaders: Hern Guenther – Chairperson/Secretary, Rev. Daniel Clark, and Rev. JJ Lynn with terms ending in 2027 and Rev. Caroline Clifford, Kathe Houck and Rev. Tim Dawes with terms ending in 2025. Synod Council Liaison: Jennifer Armstrong-Schaefer

Church in Society: Rev. Linda Theophilus – Secretary, Rev. Ryan Pusch, Rev. Ryan Kobert, and Kathie Westman with terms ending in 2027 and Rev. Sarah Rossing – Chairperson, Rev. Jocelyn Johnston, Linda Neumann, Kelly Spanninger, and Bob Errett with terms ending in 2025. Synod Council Liaison: Rev. Allyn Itterly

Church Throughout the World: Bob David – Chairperson, Rev. Brandon Johns, Rev. Jeffrey Truscott with terms ending in 2027 and Rev. Brenda Henry, Rev. Kara Probst, and Rev. Kimberly van Driel with terms ending in 2025. Synod Council Liaison: Rev. Brenda Henry

- **Appointed** the Rev. Brenda Henry to serve on the Mutual Ministry Committee with a term expiring in 2026.
- **Appointed** members to the various Committees of the Synod Council as listed:

Budget and Finance Committee: Rev. Martha McCreight - Chairperson and Rev. Tara Lynn with terms ending in 2026.

Committee on Constitutions and Bylaws: Rev. Larry Kemp – Chairperson, John Kepple, R. Brandon James, Rev. Jason Felici, and Matt Pritchard with terms ending in 2026.

Credentials Committee: Deacon Amy Santoriello with a term ending in 2026.

History and Archives Committee: Loran Bohman with a term ending in 2026

Resource Development Committee: James Cunningham – Chairperson, Rev. Amy Michelson, and Rev. Paul Poerschke with terms ending in 2026.

- **Appointed** the Rev. Scott Dennis to serve as Interim Pastor Available for Call to at Forks Zion, Leechburg and Bethesda, Lower Burrell.
- **Invited** into Altar and Pulpit Fellowship the Rev. Karl Schoch, a pastor of the North American Lutheran Church, to serve under the supervision of the Rev. Joel Benson within the congregations of the Butler Area Lutheran Ministries (BALM).
- **Voted** to place the funds of the Hazel Gould Estate into the Congregation Legacy Fund.
- **Approved** the retirement of Rev. John Smaligo on the Roster of Ministers of Word and Sacrament of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America effective August 1, 2023.