

Pastor Bill Schaefer, Synod Secretary

bill.schaefer@swpasynod.org 1014 Perry Hwy, Suite 200 Pittsburgh, PA 15237

Actions of the Synod Council January 20, 2024

- pursuant to +S8.41 of the Synod Constitution to reappoint Gary Teti as the Treasurer of the Southwestern Pennsylvania Synod with a term expiring August 1, 2028.
- Approved the retirement of Rev. Timothy Dawes on the Roster of Ministers of Word and Sacrament of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America effective November 1, 2023.
- Approved the retirement of Rev. David Littke on the Roster of Ministers of Word and Sacrament of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America effective April 1, 2024.
- Approved the retirement of Rev. Melba Dibble on the Roster of Ministers of Word and Sacrament of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America effective May 1, 2024.
- Granted Rev. Alexander Sumo the status of On Leave From Call for Family Leave on the Roster of Ministers of Word and Sacrament of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America up to the completion of his eligible six-year term and/or annual review with the original effective date of February 5, 2024.
- Appointed the following person to the Camp Agape Board of Directors: Jan Schade to fill an unexpired term ending in 2025 and Rev. Frank Zeman to a term expiring in 2026.
- Recommended to the 2024 Southwestern Pennsylvania Synod Assembly to receive One in Christ, Ambridge as a union congregation of the Southwestern Pennsylvania Synod.
- Affirmed, with thanksgiving for their years of active ministry, the retired roster status of approximately one-third of the synod's Ministers of Word and Sacrament and Ministers of Word and Service on the retired rosters of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, pursuant to 7.41.07 and 7.71.04 of the Constitution of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America and the Manual of Policies and Procedures for Management of the Rosters of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Part 1, Section 3.D.1.f., Guidelines for Retired Ministers of Word and Sacrament and Ministers of Word and Service (Group 1).
- Set the 2024 synod assembly be held at PennWest University California on June 14 and June 15, 2024 with both in person and online formats available.
- Set the registration fee for the 2024 synod assembly be set at \$95.00 for all participants, both online and in-person.

- set the Lay Voter Formula for the 2024 Synod Assembly as follows:
 - That each congregation, irrespective of baptized membership, may elect two voting members.
 - That an additional voting member be elected, based on baptized membership above 500 but below 750, an additional two voting members be elected for those congregations with a baptized membership above 750 but below 1,000, and that an additional three voting members be elected for those congregations with a baptized membership above 1,000. And that each increment of 250 above 1,000 baptized members provide an additional voting member for the congregation to elect.
- Appointed Loran Bohman as chairperson of the History and Archives Committee with a term ending in 2027.
- Appointed Rev. Allen Reithmiller, Zach Bryte and Rev. David Hanssen as members of the History and Archives Committee with terms ending in 2027.